Week 15: Drawing Down The Sun

Drawing Down The Sun is the term generally used for calling a God into your body. Sort of sounds like possession, I know, but the accounts I have read on this have been very spiritual and even funny. The funny being when Puck decided to manifest.

Picture found at http://www.rootsofritual.net/general/invocation-of-deity/
Picture found at http://www.rootsofritual.net/general/invocation-of-deity/

I should maybe mention right now (especially since I uh maybe had this misconception) that drawing down the sun does not need to be during the day and drawing down the moon does not need to be at night. The terms are just used to differentiate between calling in masculine (sun) or feminine (moon) energy into your body.

When I started reading up on this, most of my books pretty much stated only male priests were able to draw down the sun and female priestesses were able to draw down the moon. Which I felt was pretty unfair. I have mentioned in a earlier posting that I felt pretty perfectly at ease in working with male energy in my circles. It was a little frustrating finding this kind of sexism in a religion that is usually so open about gender fluidity. Then I came across the article I posted above. And had a duh moment. Most of my books are older. And were written at a time when gender fluidity was not really a consideration. Turns out, if I had resources on drawing downs that were more recent, it is now perfectly acceptable for a priest to draw down the moon and a priestess to draw down the sun.

I had actually thought I would use this post to write a ritual for this. And, while I will be posting a ritual for a drawing down, it just isn’t ready yet. Before I had educated myself on this topic, I had figured this was something I could do as a solitary. Not so much. Drawing Down The Sun/Moon really does require a support team. You do not have to be part of a coven, but you should have one or more people in the Circle with you. It can be intense and the person who has drawn in a God/Goddess may need help after the ritual.

So, no ritual, yet. My coven will be joining me for the next Full Moon on June 2 and we will be experiencing a Drawing Down together. I am pretty excited about this. When I do post it, it will be found under Spells.

One thought on “Week 15: Drawing Down The Sun”

Leave a Reply

