Week 7: Element Spellwork

Picture from: http://www.legionofpagans.com/element-magick?page=2
Picture from: http://www.legionofpagans.com/element-magick?page=2

I’ve been thinking about how to post about the spellwork I will be working on this week. I have felt that writing about spells can lead down some tricky roads. Some people expect instant results when working with magick. For myself, magick is a form of focus. If you are at all educated on Circle and Ritual workings, then you will know that the majority of the tools used are simply there as a way of focusing your energy. Well, in a similar way, spells work as a focus for me. A focus of energy I can take away with me and keep in my mind. Or in a talisman (or other physical token) form, if that is the type of spellwork I performed.

Preparing for simple spells is a little different from prepping for a formal ritual. Within the past year, I have found myself not needing a fancy Circle set-up as much. I have become confident in my abilities to visualize my protective Circle around me. Don’t get me wrong, the fancier Rituals can be a lot of fun to put together. Especially with a group. I feel those are one of the things that can really bring a magickal group closer together. I also feel the fancy Circles should be reserved for special days, such as the Sabbats, handfastings, and sainings. Of course, you may wish to go through the motions of casting a formal Circle. And that is perfectly fine.

So, with my explanation/disclaimer out-of-the-way, I had some fun with a little natural magick this week.

Willpower Talisman: I created a talisman to help with willpower. I called upon Air for knowledge. Willpower is an aspect of fire. Health is associated with Water. I used a stone for Earth and stability.

That was the only planned spell I did. Most of my free time was involved in planning for the Vernal Equinox. I haven’t been a solitary in a very long time. I actually felt a little lost on how to plan a Sabbat. None of my usual resource books were of any help. So, I pretty much let my Kitchen Witch aspect out and planned a full day of good food and planting seeds.
I did cut a small branch off my dogwood tree (asking permission and giving thanks), soaked the flowers with water, and sprinkled the water over my seedlings and garden area. Envisioning health and growth. That branch is now in a vase and the flowers are still gorgeous.
That tree was also humming with bee activity, which I took as a good sign. Happy bees mean a happy garden.

Leave a Reply

