Week 3: Movement Meditation

Movement Meditation|Mommy Witch

Movement meditation includes activities such as yoga (Hatha, in this case) and tai chi. Both of which I will be doing this week. I already know I enjoy yoga, but would like to get into the habit of doing it more often. For Tai Chi, I will be using YouTube videos. The only experience I have with Tai Chi is Les Mills BodyFlow. I am looking forward to the experience.

Movement meditation requires concentration on placing your body into certain positions. Which keeps your mind in the Here and Now – the very basis behind successful meditation. The more complicated the pose, the deeper the concentration. At least in regards to yoga.

You can also do simple movements: going for a walk, running, exercising. I am not sure about other people, but I find it harder to keep my mind in a meditative state while doing these activities. I have done it. Jogging and swimming are  the easier ones for me. I have done it while walking, but it really took a great deal of mental work to keep my mind from wandering.

I expect the (Hatha) yoga to be a great deal of fun for the family. Kids love to imitate the positions. They think they are funny, so do them alongside the adults. Makes the exercise easier as I do not have to chase them around.

Leave a Reply

